h1

The Jewelry Expo In Retrospect – Part I

14 October, 2008

Well, I believe the Expo is over, and it was sadly far too short considering how broke Scarbie is these days.  But she managed to find enough money to walk away feeling good, even if she didn’t manage to invest in all the things she wanted to.  One of the side-effects of crippling poverty!  Anyway, I figured I’d show you lovelies some of my favourite pieces picked up this year, because you can still visit MAIN stores, after all.

This year’s Exposition was fantastic, I’m thrilled to say, even better than last year.  A big well-done to Miriel and her crew, they did a fantastic job.  I was there for more than four hours before I experienced any lag at all, even with 30+ people in the sim.  The layout was easy to navigate and easy on the eyes.  Frankly, if Hair Fair had been run the same way, I’d probably have enjoyed it a lot more.  The booths were even in alphabetical order.  Plus (and this is very important), there was a very high ratio of gorgeous jewels to balance out the inevitable booth or two of blingtardwear.  I suppose there’s nothing wrong with blingtardwear, but there’s nothing right, either.  You know the kind I mean.  Huge, gaudy diamonds all out the wazooey, enormous bling flashes, or even… even so much bling on the product pictures themselves that you can’t see what the jewellery looks like!  Kind of a no-no, just as a head’s up to any potential jewellery designers out there.

Anyway, there was very little of that, and lots of the good stuff, so let’s get started with my favourites.  Some of these pictures I had to borrow from the creator’s blogs, because I ran out of money and… well, they look better than my photos anyway. :D

Gorgeous things from Siyu of Illusions.  Always so many gorgeous things.  Oh god, it hurts and stings.  So much pretty.

Gorgeous things from Siyu of Illusions. Always so many gorgeous things. Oh god, it hurts and stings. So much pretty. I got a sneak peak at these when I bumped into her while hair shopping the other day, and they are breathtaking in person.

The lovely Ryker Beck is FINALLY back on the scene, with her beautiful collection of jewels under the name Genesis.  I want everything, and if you're smart SO DO YOU.

The lovely Ryker Beck is FINALLY back on the scene, with her beautiful collection of jewels under the name Genesis. I want everything, and if you're anything like me and a klepto for pretty things, you will too!

It's been a long time since I visited OPIUM Everyday. Last time I was there, they didn't really HAVE much. But I'm telling you, they released the CUTEST stuff for the Jewellery Expo, and it's so cheap! This is the Marina earrings and necklace in white, and it only set me back about $200L for both. Their store is right behind my satellite at Le Zoo, so go check them out!

OMG, Tuli's new Meredith skins have a butt-freckle, that's so cute! ...and totally off-topic! This adorable sparkly bangle set is by Dark Mouse Jewelry. Mouse is a sweet-heart, and a talented one at that; these bangles are to die for! They include earrings too, which aren't shown, but are equally fabulous.

It's not really a secret that Scarbie has a fetish for cameos and skullies. Chalk it up to my inner goth girl (I blame her for a lot >_>) but the adorable Glitterati set from Violet Voltaire totally justifies me in that love. AND the cameos on the earrings and necklace are both texture change, with four options! What's NOT to love?! Nothing, that's what!

This gorgeous piece is from EarthStones, the Sylvan Hip Belt in Silver/Abalone. They had so much gorgeous stuff at the Expo that if I hadn't been on a budget of only $2k (*Cry*) that I'd have bought every last thing!

A couple of cute freebies from M.R.M. Factory. Not sure if they're available after the expo, but check out the store to find out!

I was lucky enough to catch this beautiful set on discount at Yabusaka's booth, and it is incredible. VERY primmy, though. I lagged out just putting it on, but it's so pretty. The set racks up a whopping 749 prims altogether, and most of it appears to be sculpties. But still, gorgeous!

Two beautiful necklaces from Studio Sidhe, something a little more earthy than the usual fair. I love the light touch of glow on the crystal pendant, so pretty. And yes, they're two separate necklaces, I reattached them for the picture. XD

And of course, we can't forget the show's organiser, the lovely Miriel!  Her delicate, simple and elegant jewellery comes in a bazillion options, and is so cheap you can afford to indulge in lots!

And of course, we can't forget the show's organiser, the lovely Miriel! Her delicate, simple and elegant jewellery comes in a bazillion options, and is so cheap you can afford to indulge in lots!

Descriptions (Top to Bottom):

Illusions – Suleika Set
Genesis – The Antique Sterling Locket
OPIUM Everyday – Marina Earrings & Bracelet (White)
Dark Mouse – Color Bangles & Beaded Hoops Set
Violet Voltaire – Glitterati (Black)
EarthStones – Sylvan Hip Belt (Silver/Abalone)
M.R.M. FACTORY – Open Heart Silver Earrings; Hawaiian Hair Clip (Tropical Flowers)
Yabusaka – 10 Set (Sai)
Studio Sidhe – Beaded Choker (BYB); Quartz Crystal Pendant (Abalone Shell)
Miriel Everyday – Find Your Way Necklace (Gold/Purple)

Description (All Pictures):

Skin – Tuli – Meredith – Sunkissed (Silver Shine)
Shape –
A.D. Studios Shapes – Sizzling Socialite
Eyes – Scarlia Impressions – [SI] Monochrome Eyes – Amulet 3
Hair –
Frangipani Designs – Kira (Licorice)
Lashes –
Celestial Studios – Club 2
Lingerie – ROSEMAR (Now M&R Cupcakes) – Classic Lingerie (Peach)
Pose –
Torridwear – High Fashion 4, Torridwear – Curves 3

2 comments

  1. Nice collection of necklaces described in this blog – no heart pendants though


  2. fantastic and unique jewelry great post



Leave a comment